Happy Birthday, Dr. King!

“I choose love. Hate is too great a burden to bear.” – Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.

This quote hangs in my classroom, among others. It needs to be our mantra as a divided country. I will not let the world change me. I will stand up and not by. I will look hate in the face and say, “NO!” to those who attempt to use fear to make me less than who I was created to be or to demoralize my brothers and sisters. There is no color of skin, religion or sexual orientation that can strip away the humanity of our fellow global citizens. It is only man’s weaknesses that can do that – and only if we allow it. Happy birthday, Dr. King. I will do my best to love, knowing it won’t always be easy. Your legacy of peace is more important than ever.

Author: Reflections of a Fourth Grade Teacher

I am a 4th grade teacher in the High Desert of So. California, mother of 2, wife, daughter, dog hair wearer. If I invest my time, I invest my passion. I believe the rewards of tenacity are available to anyone who is willing to get dirty, make mistakes, work with all they have and ask for help when they have nothing left.

Leave a Reply

