Surviving VS Thriving

So here it is. The truth is about to be spoken: I fear I may get stuck in survival mode and forget all that I have read and thought and planned.  My students will walk in the door on Monday, and I will panic at all that must be accomplished to make up for the five days lost to fire. PANIC! It keeps rushing in.

I want to breathe in peace and envelop my students with it on my exhale. I want to take it all in stride. I want to be the laid-back adult I planned to be. But alas, I am Type A. I am inwardly hysterical at the loss of the miniscule amount of control I thought I had garnered. I will smile and speak slowly and calmly, but the eye-twitch will give me away.

“Snow Days”, I tell myself.  Teachers in places that experience weather survive unplanned snow days.  BUT NO! Not in the first ten days of school! Not when they are trying to build a culture, establish routines and become a family!

I must find my chill, as my own beloved children would say, so that I can thrive. I need to calm the heck down and be the teacher my students need me to be in order for them to thrive. I will. I will.

Do you panic? What is your mantra that cancels out the cacophony of chaos? Whisper it to me so that I too may become a zen master.

Author: Reflections of a Fourth Grade Teacher

I am a 4th grade teacher in the High Desert of So. California, mother of 2, wife, daughter, dog hair wearer. If I invest my time, I invest my passion. I believe the rewards of tenacity are available to anyone who is willing to get dirty, make mistakes, work with all they have and ask for help when they have nothing left.

Leave a Reply

